Real Weddings | Mr + Mrs Mill

MHP_6292a-550x825

Tom and I met in 2006 through mutual, family friends. We soon became inseparable and married on October 6th, 2012 at my Maid of Honour’s, childhood home, just outside of Rockhampton. The ceremony was held at her parent’s stables, Tarantella Lodge, followed by a beautiful reception on the property. I grew up in Rockhampton and being able to get married here was perfect as the location holds such sentiment. It is also wonderful to share your home town with all of your guests and friends who may not have been to the area for a long time.

rustic-Queensland-WeddingI found my beautiful wedding dress at Jennifer Gifford Designs in Brisbane, Queensland. I found both the ring bearer’s nest (that I later used as my cake topper) and Bridesmaids garlands on Etsy. I also found my veil, the page boy’s suspenders and guestbook on the popular, handmade site. Our hair on the day was done by Meg and her team at Wink for Hair, with make up provided by Sooz, Irresistible Beauty.

MHP_5230a-550x366

MHP_5614panoa-550x220 MHP_5700a-550x366Our photographer, Madelyn Holmes, captured our wedding day perfectly. She is a lovely, 17 year old, boasting a portfolio of beautiful images. She has a talent for being able to capture the moment, and brings a romantic and vintage feel to her photos. The first time I saw her work, I knew she was going to do an amazing job of our wedding. She was assisted on the day by Cory Pedder.

MHP_5716a-550x366 MHP_5868a-550x366

MHP_5890a-550x366

Our niece, Gemma, was our flower girl and wore Tom’s mother’s flower girl dress that she originally wore to a wedding in the 1970’s.

MHP_5764a-550x366 MHP_5769a-550x366

MHP_5998a-550x366

Rustic-Queensland-Wedding1048

MHP_6040a-550x366

My aunt allowed me to borrow my deceased Grandmother’s pearls to wear on my wedding day and, with help from my sister-in-law, bound my mother’s pearls, that she wore on her wedding day, around my bouquet. Our beautiful flowers were provided by Tall Pines Florist and they allowed us to create our own table settings with Tom’s family helping to assemble the beautiful floral arrangements. We spent many weekends leading up to the wedding creating all of our table settings and decorations, it was lovely to have such personal touches throughout the wedding and to have had so many special people involved.

Rustic-Queensland-Wedding1047

MHP_6191a-550x366

Rustic-Queensland-Wedding1049

Amy_Tom_17

MHP_6277a-550x366

Queensland-Backyard-Rustic-Marquee-Wedding

My mother created our beautiful wedding cake. We made the belly bands from hessian and recycled the ring bearer’s nest used in the wedding ceremony as our cake topper later in the night. I borrowed my Maid of Honour’s, mother’s old sewing table to use as our cake table and Tom went out and got chainsawing to get us the perfect, rustic cake stand.

Rustic-Wedding-Cake

MHP_7056a-550x825

Rustic-Wedding-Bar

Amy_Tom_21

MHP_6491a-550x366 MHP_7294a-550x825

Our first dance was to ‘You Make My Dreams Come True’ by Hall & Oates under the stars. We had an amazing night, enjoyed by all and thank all those who helped get us there.

MHP_6369a-550x825

Leave a Reply

